Functions of The Cabinet

Article 20 of the Constitution of the Kingdom of Bhutan

The Executive

  1. The Government shall protect and strengthen the sovereignty of the Kingdom, provide good governance, and ensure peace, security, well-being and happiness of the people.
  2. The Executive Power is vested in the Lhengye Zhungtshog which consists of the Ministers headed by the Prime Minister. The number of Ministers shall be determined by the number of Ministries required to provide efficient and good governance. Creation of an additional ministry or reduction of any ministry shall be approved by Parliament. Ministries shall not be created for the purpose only of appointing Ministers.
  3. Subject to sections 16 and 19 of Article 2, the Lhengye Zhungtshog shall aid and advise the Druk Gyalpo in the exercise of His functions including international affairs, provided that the Druk Gyalpo may require the Lhengye Zhungtshog to reconsider such advice, either generally or otherwise.
  4. The Prime Minister shall keep the Druk Gyalpo informed from time to time about the affairs of the State, including international affairs, and shall submit such information and files as called for by the Druk Gyalpo.
  5. The Lhengye Zhungtshog shall:
    • Assess the state of affairs arising from developments in the State and society and from events at home and abroad;
    • Define the goals of State action and determine the resources required to achieve them;
    • Plan and co-ordinate government policies and ensure their implementation; and
    • Represent the Kingdom at home and abroad.
  6. The Lhengye Zhungtshog shall promote an efficient civil administration based on the democratic values and principles enshrined in this Constitution.
  7. The Lhengye Zhungtshog shall be collectively responsible to the Druk Gyalpo and to Parliament.
  8. The Executive shall not issue any executive order, circular, rule or notification which is inconsistent with or shall have the effect of modifying, varying or superseding any provision of a law made by Parliament or a law in force.
Cabinet Secretariat © 2022